“The Lost Rainforest feels unlike anything I’ve read. Eliot Schrefer has mined the richness and depths of his setting to find a deeper magic, immersing us in a world that is at once complex, dangerous, beautiful, and ultimately demanding of our protection. A thrilling start to an exceptional new series.”

— Soman Chainani, 

New York Times bestselling author of the School for Good and Evil series 

“Just right for middle grade readers who want an engrossing fantasy adventure.” — School Library Journal

“With a memorable, quick-bantering cast, this kickoff to the Lost Rainforest series, a playful departure from Schrefer’s ape novels, brings fresh perspective to the magical animal subgenre. And, despite the fantasy setup, readers will come away learning quite a bit about this ecosystem and its inhabitants.”

Publishers Weekly

“While the story is pure fast-paced fantasy, the underlying issues are real. Ignorance among the species, racism, and intolerance of differences are rampant. An author’s note highlights the beauty and importance of the rainforest. Magic with depth in this new series stunner.”

— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

 

THE LOST RAINFOREST:

Rumi's Riddle

 

The action-packed conclusion to the Lost Rainforest series by award-winning and bestselling author Eliot Schrefer delivers one last thrilling adventure as the shadowwalkers are pushed to the limit to protect Caldera. Perfect for fans of Warriors and Spirit Animals.

When the shadowwalkers were victorious in their battle against the Ant Queen, they hoped their work to save Caldera was done. But the rainforest has begun to rumble.

Rumi, a scholarly tree frog who can control the wind, must bring his band of animal friends to face the greatest danger they’ve yet encountered—the giant volcano beneath the jungle itself. While the volcano roars, rumors of a mysterious evil blanket Caldera—the Elemental of Darkness has emerged and is building a legion of followers.

When the shadowwalkers are forced to divide and conquer, Rumi finds himself an unlikely leader and must grapple with his own secrets before he can unlock the full scope of his magical powers. Can Rumi rally the shadowwalkers to save their rainforest home?

PRAISE FOR MEZ’S MAGIC:

 

“Unlike anything I’ve read. Eliot Schrefer has mined the richness and depths of his setting to find a deeper magic, immersing us in a world that is at once complex, dangerous, beautiful, and ultimately demanding of our protection. A thrilling start to an exceptional new series.”
- Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of the School for Good and Evil series 


★ “While the story is pure fast-paced fantasy, the underlying issues are real. Ignorance among the species, racism, and intolerance of differences are rampant. An author’s note highlights the beauty and importance of the rainforest. Magic with depth in this new series stunner.”
- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


“Just right for middle grade readers who want an engrossing fantasy adventure.”
- School Library Journal


“With a memorable, quick-bantering cast, this kickoff to the Lost Rainforest series, a playful departure from Schrefer’s ape novels, brings fresh perspective to the magical animal subgenre. And, despite the fantasy setup, readers will come away learning quite a bit about this ecosystem and its inhabitants.”
- Publishers Weekly


“Mez’s Magic is packed with as many jokes as fast-paced fight scenes. And Schrefer has created a stock of memorable characters—including Gogi, a monkey with self-esteem issues; Rumi, a delightfully urbane tree frog; and a manic, pixie-dream bat named Lima.”
- New York Times Book Review

 

 

PRAISE FOR ENDANGERED AND RESCUED:

dazzling, big-hearted... as riveting as the action is, it's the nuanced portraits of the characters, human and ape, that make the story so affecting.

The New York Times Editors' Choice

 

This is a book that combines skillful interpretation of orangutan character, the cruelty inherent in keeping apes as pets, and the plight of the wild orangutans. Eliot has created unforgettable characters in Raja, the orphaned ape and his human “brother”, John. Moving, fascinating and eye opening.

Dr. Jane Goodall

BOOKS

FOLLOW ME

  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube
  • Tumblr App Icon

© 2020 by Eliot Schrefer