THE BOOKS

 

THREATENED

Scholastic, March 2014

Into the jungle. Into the wild. Into harm's way.

When he was a boy, Luc's mother would warn him about the "mock men" living in the trees by their home -- chimpanzees whose cries would fill the night.

Luc is older now, his mother gone. He lives in a house of mistreated orphans, barely getting by. Then a man calling himself Prof comes to town with a mysterious mission. When Luc tries to rob him, the man isn't mad. Instead, he offers Luc a job.

Together, Luc and Prof head into the rough, dangerous jungle in order to study the elusive chimpanzees. There, Luc finally finds a new family -- and must act when that family comes under attack.

As he did in his acclaimed novel Endangered, a finalist for the National Book Award, Eliot Schrefer takes us somewhere fiction rarely goes, introducing us to characters we rarely get to meet. The unforgettable result is the story of a boy fleeing his present, a man fleeing his past, and a trio of chimpanzees who are struggling not to flee at all.

 

Praise:

 

- National Book Award Finalist

 

- Publisher's Weekly "Best of 2014"

 

- New York Public Library's "Best Books for Teens"

 

"A plot packed with action and suspense makes this novel stand alongside other great survival adventures, including those by Paulsen, London, and O'Dell."

 

VOYA (Voice of Youth Advocates)

 

"Schrefer’s landscape descriptions are rich and evocative, and his characters, both human and chimpanzee, are complex and fascinating."

 

- Booklist

 

"the valor and soul of Luc is captivating. Fascinating and sure to lead to discussion."

 

- School Library Journal

 

A Junior Library Guild selection.

  

GEEK FANTASY NOVEL

Scholastic. David Levithan, Ed.

"A stunning...and wildly amusing novel that will likely confound and enchant sci-fi and fantasy fans alike."

--Starred Review, Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

 

"There's a high level of metatextual playfulness, from a Choose Your Own Adventure-style interlude to the active participation of the narrator(s) and the unconventional ending, which set this book apart from its ilk. Comic and experimental... it defies expectations at every turn."

--Publisher's Weekly

 

"will definitely score high marks with many readers."

--Booklist

 

THE DEADLY SISTER

Scholastic. David Levithan, Ed.

"Well-drawn characters, realistic dialogue, and suspenseful twists and turns add to the appeal. Teens crave mystery, and this book will suit them just fine."

--Starred Review, School Library Journal

 

"let me tell you, The Deadly Sister was so creepily good, I would rather you read it yourself ... Eliot Schrefer is the author of another thrillingly creepy book–and serious page-turner–The School for Dangerous Girls.  The Deadly Sister is a great follow-up and a perfect read-alike."

--ThisGrrlReads

 

"The Deadly Sister is a perfect summer thriller."

--TeensReadToo

  

ENDANGERED

Scholastic. David Levithan, ed.

"dazzling, big-hearted... as riveting as the action is, it's the nuanced portraits of the characters, human and ape, that make the story so affecting."

--The New York Times, Editors' Choice

 

"Eliot Schrefer grounds this taut, heart-wrenching tale in details gleaned from his work at a similar sanctuary and paints vivid portraits of intelligent, peaceful primates."

--The Washington Post

 

“A deserving National Book Award Finalist… an unmistakable subtext is the contrast between the pacifist bonobos and the rapaciousness of the human revolutionaries—and of the Western powers that condone their violence for the sake of valuable minerals.” --Natural History

 

New York Times Editors' Choice

NPR's "Best of 2012"

Finalist, National Book Award in Young People's Literature

Finalist, Walden Book Award

Winner, Sigurd Olson Nature Writing Award

Winner, Green Earth Book Award

      

THE SCHOOL FOR DANGEROUS GIRLS

Scholastic. David Levithan, Ed.

"Gripping, violent, and terrifying."

--Kirkus Reviews

 

"Teens might behave dangerously themselves to get their hands on this page-turner with its commentary on education."

--Booklist

 

"The struggle and eventual triumph of the bad girls over the evil teachers makes for an intriguing conflict that many teens will appreciate."

--School Library Journal

 

A New York Public Library "Best of the Teen Age."

  

HACK THE SAT

Gotham Books. Erin Moore, Ed.

"Cutting corners and beating the system... Where was this guy when we needed him?"

--NYPost

 

"High school juniors everywhere, rejoice! At last, the SAT guide you've been waiting for has arrived... it is the perfect test prep for smart students who want to do even better... By far the best part of Hack the SAT is Schrefer's reassuring tone, like a big brother telling high school kids, "Study, but don't sweat it."

-- Bookpage

 

"With witty comments and situation stories throughout the book, reading Hack the SAT becomes not only informative, but an enjoyable read. Eliot Schrefer also manages to make the SAT feel less overwhelming. Every part is broken down and explained thoroughly in each of the book's chapters."

--CollegeBound.net

    

THE NEW KID

Simon & Schuster. Amanda Murray, Ed.

"In crisp, clever and incisive scenes, Schrefer shows that belonging can bring just as much heartbreak as being alone."

--USAToday

 

"Schrefer deftly braids together two tales of self-invention, one part suspense and one part coming-of-age. Humphrey's struggles with incipient desire are rendered with squeamish precision, and the steady enclosure of Gretchen by half-truths and self-betrayals will be familiar to any of us who have ever had to grow up."

--Out Magazine

 

"A new Talented Mr. Ripley... Schrefer weds fluid prose to a trashy/sexy plot in his fun second novel…the combination of smart writing and a decadent world make for a genuine guilty pleasure."

--Publishers Weekly

    

GLAMOROUS DISASTERS

Simon & Schuster. Amanda Murray, Ed.

"Schrefer makes his mark as a clever new writer to watch."
--Lauren Weisberger, author of The Devil Wears Prada

"A mordant, moral novel of social observation and social hierarchy in the tradition of Edith Wharton, Glamorous Disasters also recalls literature's array of ambitious-young-man narratives, from Lost Illusions to The Great Gatsby, with just a hint of Bright Lights, Big City to hasten its inevitable trip up the bestseller list."
--Darcy Cosper, author of Wedding Season

"Schrefer's acutely observed, smoothly written confection promises to do for overprivileged high schoolers what The Devil Wears Prada did for snotty fashion editors and The Nanny Diaries for Park Avenue moms."
- Newsweek

  

              "engrossing, meticulously researched, and gripping tale of survival ... Schrefer’s passion for the material and empathy for the characters shows on every page, and his non-human subjects are every bit as complex and fascinating as narrator Luc."

 

Publisher's Weekly, starred review

              "The particulars of his daily life Inside—where Gabonese believe humans shouldn’t go—will enthrall those who enjoy adventure, and the intimate glimpse of chimpanzee daily life is a treat for nature lovers. Engrossing action and characters readers will keep thinking about in a splendid survival story."

 

Kirkus, starred review

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube
  • Tumblr App Icon

© 2017 by Eliot Schrefer