GLAMOROUS DISASTERS

Noah rose from humble beginnings and, through pure grit and resourcefulness, got himself through Princeton. Now staggering under the weight of massive student loans and dazzled by life in the big city, Noah enters the rarefied field of SAT tutoring in Manhattan, working one-on-one with the spoiled, gorgeous children of the American aristocracy. He takes on the considerable academic challenges that are Dylan Thayer, a dissipated high school athlete-socialite, and his waifish sister, Tuscany. Dylan won't lift a finger to do anything but pick up a lacrosse stick, and Tuscany is avidly pursuing her own downfall via drugs and relationships with men more than twice her age. But their mother, a self-medicating pediatrician, has ambitious plans for them in spite of their shortcomings -- and she has plans for their SAT tutor as well. With echoes of The Devil Wears Prada, The Nanny Diaries, and Bright Lights, Big City, Glamorous Disasters is an incisive portrayal of a small and privileged world, a cautionary tale written by a Harvard grad who was once an SAT tutor himself -- an outsider who became a magnificently observant insider.

"Schrefer makes his mark as a clever new writer to watch."
--Lauren Weisberger, author of The Devil Wears Prada

"A mordant, moral novel of social observation and social hierarchy in the tradition of Edith Wharton, Glamorous Disasters also recalls literature's array of ambitious-young-man narratives, from Lost Illusions to The Great Gatsby, with just a hint of Bright Lights, Big City to hasten its inevitable trip up the bestseller list."
--Darcy Cosper, author of Wedding Season

"Schrefer's acutely observed, smoothly written confection promises to do for overprivileged high schoolers what The Devil Wears Prada did for snotty fashion editors and The Nanny Diaries for Park Avenue moms."
- Newsweek

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube
  • Tumblr App Icon

© 2017 by Eliot Schrefer